Why organic? Our spirits, and the organic ingredients that go into them, are free from synthetic chemical pesticides and fertilizers--chemicals which would come through in the distillates we produce. The water we use is filtered for purity. Organic spirits are not necessarily healthier for you (it is whisky, after all!), but the taste is pure and clean and free from synthetic "off notes" of the petroleum-based pesticides and herbicides used on normal grain crops. Producing organically is also more historically authentic, since the grains of the 1800's didn't have these chemicals either. In short, being organic guarantees you the absolute highest level of quality obtainable, and we are doing our part to protect and restore the environment.
At Catoctin Creek, we are proud to offer one of the nation’s only lines of organic spirits. If you have any questions concerning our organic certification, please contact us.
Nutrition Facts for all of our products are available by clicking the image to the right.
Catoctin Creek® is certified Kosher by the Star-K certification agency. Certification includes Catoctin Creek Organic Mosby's Spirit, Organic Roundstone Rye Whisky (including the Cask Proof version), Organic Watershed Gin, Short Hill Mountain peach brandy, and Pearousia pear brandy, which all bear the Star-K certification mark.
Kosher certification is performed under the rabbinical supervision of Rabbis Moshe Heinemann and Eliyahu Shuman, who are among the world's foremost experts on Jewish law and kashrus, and Rabbi Tzvi Rosen, editor of Star-K’s quarterly journal, Kashrus Kurrents, and an expert on liquors and industrial kashrus.
We are proud to offer one of the nation’s only lines of Kosher spirits, and we are honored to be affiliated with Star-K who share our philosophies concerning quality organic and kosher foods, and stewardship of the planet we all share. If you have any questions concerning our Kosher certification, please contact us.
Kosher certificates can be downloaded here.
We get asked a lot if our spirits are gluten free. Federal limits for declaring products gluten free require no detectable gluten at <20ppm. Our samples tested showed no detectable gluten even at <5ppm. So we exceed the federal definition of gluten free by four times.
But rye grain is full of gluten, you say! How can this be? The answer is simple. While it is true that rye grain is a large source of gluten, the distillation process removes gluten from the alcoholic distillates we produce. In layman's terms, the gluten molecules are too heavy to ascend the column in the pot still.
So, you can rest assured our products are gluten free.
For those who keep a vegan diet, we occasionally get the question, "Are your products vegan?"
Yes, our products, are vegan. We use no animal-derived ingredients, nor any animal by-products for filtering or refining our product.
Sometimes, the question of yeast arises. Yeast is required in all fermented beverages, including beer, wine, kombucha, and of course, whiskey, gin and brandy. The yeast organism (Saccharomyces sp.) is a eukaryotic micro-organisms of the fungi kingdom, which means it is neither plant nor animal. In short, if you can eat mushrooms, you can drink fermented beverages like ours. More about that here.